asp.net 2.0 Error: ‘Title’ is not a member of ‘ASP…

I had this error come up on a few pages after I deployed my website and it was driving me crazy. After hours of debugging, it turns out to be a simple problem. The problem is that I had duplicate page/user control names which when deployed was causing a naming conflict. This happens if for example I have a folder name members and a page name “myprofile.aspx” this creates a class named members_myprofil. Then if I have another user control under usercontrolsmembersmyprofile.ascx then its class also is name members_profile.

By default asp.net pages are compiled into multiple DLLs (one per folder, I think) and the only way I discovered this error is when I used the Web Deployment Project and tried to get it to merge the DLLs into a single DLL (as in asp.net 1/1.1). Initially, the build failed with the error: “aspnet_merge.exe” exited with code 1, which wasn’t very helpful. After some research, I found this link http://geekswithblogs.net/michelotti/archive/2006/07/31/86754.aspx which tells you how to show more informative aspnet_merge errors. By looking in the build output window, I was able to find the offending classes/pages and fix/rename them.

I hope this helps.

0 thoughts on “asp.net 2.0 Error: ‘Title’ is not a member of ‘ASP…

  1. This error can be solved like this…see the code below..this code would be there in your .aspx file.here inherits=”test” …is the thing to keep in mind.Now go to your .vb file…Partial Class TestInherits System.Web.UI.Page––remember that Partial class name should be same as the file inherited from( in this case its “Test”).

    Like

Leave a Reply

