How to get 50x or more traffic?

My web site KB Shortcuts was featured on Microsoft’s AJAX web site and my traffic sky rocketed. I went from 1 or so hits a day to averaging around 50 and as high as 135 hits a day. It’s not too much traffic but relatively speaking it’s a 50x to 135x the traffic.

image

Another example is one of my blog entries was mentioned on ProBlogger (a high traffic site) and again my traffic exploded. Going from 2 or 3 views for that post to 250 (and it’s only 7 PM), it will probably be around 300 or so.

image

What is the moral of this post? Get linked on high profile/high traffic sites. I am not sure how sustainable this will be in the long run, but if I can get a few more of my blog posts featured on other high traffic sites then there should be a substantial increase in my traffic. I will update my blog in a week or so to report traffic patterns.

Do you have any good tips on how to give your traffic a shot in the arm?

[update] Increase your blog traffic. Get a blog rush.

0 thoughts on “How to get 50x or more traffic?

  1. I have seen a lot of bloggers get massive traffic by doing what you did. Another way to get traffic is to go blog surfing and leave comments on blogs that you visit. I always pick a day during the week to blog surf. I visit blogs that interest me and read up on what they have to say. I sometimes get great ideas from them. I leave a comment on every blog that I visit and always check back to see if they have left anything to my comment. Most of the time, regular readers will click on your site to see who you are. I have gotten a lot of readers this way and it is a great way to promote a blog without spamming. I never really promote my blog, but I do get them interested in what I have to say so that I know that they will click on my site.

    Like

  2. I have seen a lot of bloggers get massive traffic by doing what you did. Another way to get traffic is to go blog surfing and leave comments on blogs that you visit. I always pick a day during the week to blog surf. I visit blogs that interest me and read up on what they have to say. I sometimes get great ideas from them. I leave a comment on every blog that I visit and always check back to see if they have left anything to my comment. Most of the time, regular readers will click on your site to see who you are. I have gotten a lot of readers this way and it is a great way to promote a blog without spamming. I never really promote my blog, but I do get them interested in what I have to say so that I know that they will click on my site.

    Like

  3. I have to agree with Tavi, this is something fairly well known. It's not a matter of knowing that you need to link from top sites, it's more a matter of how do you get linked from said top sites. Especially if your in an underground/niche type arena.

    Like

  4. I have to agree with Tavi, this is something fairly well known. It’s not a matter of knowing that you need to link from top sites, it’s more a matter of how do you get linked from said top sites. Especially if your in an underground/niche type arena.

    Like

  5. Tavi and TheUnclean, I think one of the best ways to start getting links from big sites is consistency in your own blogging in the area that they're blogging. The people that are carefully and consistently working on their own blogs will note consistency from others who post comments (and thoughtful comments). It's a game of statistics: you find the ones that will pay off the highest when they do link, and then you start working the numbers, posting comments, and – dare I say it – even talking them up a bit. It's a social phenomenon, and so there is no physical guarantee to anything; it's all a game of odds and fuzzy logic.

    Like

  6. Tavi and TheUnclean,

    I think one of the best ways to start getting links from big sites is consistency in your own blogging in the area that they’re blogging.

    The people that are carefully and consistently working on their own blogs will note consistency from others who post comments (and thoughtful comments). It’s a game of statistics: you find the ones that will pay off the highest when they do link, and then you start working the numbers, posting comments, and – dare I say it – even talking them up a bit.

    It’s a social phenomenon, and so there is no physical guarantee to anything; it’s all a game of odds and fuzzy logic.

    Like

  7. That has happened to me a couple of times too. I think its just as important that you get the readers to return ;)If you write a great post and it gets Stumbled or Digg'd you can expect quite an increase too and the good thing it, that post will get traffic not just one day but a month or too 😉

    Like

  8. That has happened to me a couple of times too. I think its just as important that you get the readers to return 😉

    If you write a great post and it gets Stumbled or Digg’d you can expect quite an increase too and the good thing it, that post will get traffic not just one day but a month or too 😉

    Like

  9. Pingback: SEO Aware » Excellent Tips From Great Bloggers | ProBlogger 31 Day Project | SEOAware.com

  10. Pingback: 31 Days to Building a Better Blog « Sztuka Spekulacji

  11. Really nice tips. I really agree with Gaje Master. Visiting other's sites and give comments. I have ever been active in a tech forum and I got some traffic from solving some computer problems. Joining a forum and contribute in the forum is also good way to get traffic.

    Like

  12. Really nice tips. I really agree with Gaje Master. Visiting other’s sites and give comments. I have ever been active in a tech forum and I got some traffic from solving some computer problems. Joining a forum and contribute in the forum is also good way to get traffic.

    Like

  13. Pingback: More Great Reader Blog Tips

Leave a Reply

