Review: Money Plus 2008 (part 2)

So I wrote a quick post about Money Plus a few days ago.  My main complaint on that post is that I could hardly find anything new that is worth upgrading for.  According to Money’s web site, all the “new” features are “Insight” this, “Insight” that.  It turns out insight is a separate executable that you have to run from the start menu.

image

It initially ran as a small icon in the notification area with an exclamation mark.  Hovering over it, I was told that I need to enter a password.  I entered a password and then was greeted with this dialog:

“To view information about your bills, spending, and cash flow, click the Insights icon in the windows notification area, at the far right of the taskbar. The icon will appear in the notification area whenever lnsights is running. You can set Insights to start automatically when you log on to windows so you that can quickly check your information at any time.”clip_image001[4]

I clicked OK to dismiss the dialog.  The taskbar icon changed to show the Money icon.  Click on it and you get the menu to show Insights, change settings or start Money.

image

Spending Insights shows you the thermometer bars for the categories you select to monitor closely

image

Cash Flow Insights shows you what’s going in and out of the selected account in the last 30 days.

clip_image001

Bills Insight shows you past due bills and upcoming bills.  Clicking on a bill opens up Money in the Bills Summary page with the clicked bill selected.

image

You can customize the Insights settings from the “Settings” link at the bottom of  every window.

image

I think the Insights feature isn’t that useful.  I would have preferred a Windows Vista gadget instead. 

Do you think Insights are useful?  Will you use this feature?  What would you rather see in the next Money?

0 thoughts on “Review: Money Plus 2008 (part 2)

  1. Thank you for reading my blog, and leaving a comment on PFStock. Your review of MS Money Plus leaves me a bit disappointed. I have bought a new copy of Money almost every year since 2002. I use MS Money extensively for investments, but I use Quicken for my checking and bill payments. I don’t think that I would use the “Insights” very much, and most of the other “new” features are already available online from MSN Money. That one new feature, attaching check images, has been in Quicken for a couple of years.But, I think that the larger issue is performance. You stated that even on your super fast computer, Money is still slow. Do you know if this is a Microsoft Money Plus issue, or a Windows Vista issue? Oh, and could you clarify one more thing? Does the activation scheme allow you to install MS Money Plus on more than one computer? Given all that you’ve said, I may decide to forgo an upgrade this year…

    Like

  2. Thank you for reading my blog, and leaving a comment on PFStock. Your review of MS Money Plus leaves me a bit disappointed. I have bought a new copy of Money almost every year since 2002. I use MS Money extensively for investments, but I use Quicken for my checking and bill payments. I don’t think that I would use the “Insights” very much, and most of the other “new” features are already available online from MSN Money. That one new feature, attaching check images, has been in Quicken for a couple of years.

    But, I think that the larger issue is performance. You stated that even on your super fast computer, Money is still slow. Do you know if this is a Microsoft Money Plus issue, or a Windows Vista issue? Oh, and could you clarify one more thing? Does the activation scheme allow you to install MS Money Plus on more than one computer? Given all that you’ve said, I may decide to forgo an upgrade this year…

    Like

  3. I think this is an MS Money issue not vista. If you are running 2007 then stay with it but otherwise you might want to upgrade.I am still running the trial (60 days trial) but I think the activation scheme will let you install it on ONE computer but I am NOT sure. I remember that 2007 wouldn’t install on my laptop after installing it on my desktop.

    Like

  4. I think this is an MS Money issue not vista. If you are running 2007 then stay with it but otherwise you might want to upgrade.

    I am still running the trial (60 days trial) but I think the activation scheme will let you install it on ONE computer but I am NOT sure. I remember that 2007 wouldn’t install on my laptop after installing it on my desktop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

