Yonkly Source Code

[UPDATE] Source code is now available in codeplex at http://www.codeplex.com/yonkly

I apologize for the delay of releasing the source code for Yonkly (the twitter clone).

The code is still not 100% ready but I have received so many requests for the source code and figured it is better to put something online until I clean it up than wait until I reach perfection (a moving target).

In the near future, the source code will be in a code sharing site for all to contribute and play with. Basically anyone who’s got a decent broadband service at home can download and go tweaking the code. We are currently using assembla and will open it up to the public very soon

In the meantime, here is a fully functioning project that I just converted to Preview 3 this morning (so you might run into some issues).  Get it here and read the included readme file.

Also, I would like to thank Justine for making this possible.

0 thoughts on “Yonkly Source Code

  1. Pingback: Upgrading Yonkly to ASP.NET MVC Preview 3 | Emad Ibrahim

  2. yay! I am having an issue with the Global.asax though, hmm. I’ve only messed with it for a bit but I didnt see any obvious problems. Any ideas?” Could not load type ‘Yonkly.GlobalApplication’ “

    Like

  3. @Vyrotek: I am not sure what is causing that. The project file was upgraded to the latest version of MVC, so that might be the problem. You might want to try and create a new empty project and copy the yonkly files into it… Anyway, let us know how you end up fixing it.

    Like

  4. Ah ha! So, out of habit (Im at work doing Asp.net stuff) I opened it doing File-Open-OpenWebsite instead of clicking the darn proj file! Works fine now :)The project looks great. I’ve already learned some new things!

    Like

  5. yay! I am having an issue with the Global.asax though, hmm. I’ve only messed with it for a bit but I didnt see any obvious problems. Any ideas?

    ” Could not load type ‘Yonkly.GlobalApplication’ “

    Like

  6. @Vyrotek: I am not sure what is causing that. The project file was upgraded to the latest version of MVC, so that might be the problem. You might want to try and create a new empty project and copy the yonkly files into it… Anyway, let us know how you end up fixing it.

    Like

  7. Ah ha! So, out of habit (Im at work doing Asp.net stuff) I opened it doing File-Open-OpenWebsite instead of clicking the darn proj file! Works fine now 🙂

    The project looks great. I’ve already learned some new things!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Yonkly - An open source twitter clone with ASP.net MVC - Shiju Varghese's Blog

  9. Hi,I am new in vs.net, when I tried to open the project , I got ” the project type is not supported for this installation”. I am using vs.net express 2008. Do I need to use the paid copy of vs.net?Thanks

    Like

  10. Hi,

    I am new in vs.net, when I tried to open the project , I got ” the project type is not supported for this installation”. I am using vs.net express 2008. Do I need to use the paid copy of vs.net?

    Thanks

    Like

  11. @david: I believe that you can use express with mvc project but you will have to install the mvc framework preview 3 which should install the project templates and then you will be able to open it. Here are some links I found that might help you:
    http://jason.whitehorn.ws/2007/12/10/Using+ASPNET+MVC+From+Visual+Web+Developer+Express+2008.aspx

    http://weblogs.asp.net/scottgu/archive/2008/06/01/asp-net-mvc-support-with-visual-web-developer-2008-express.aspx

    Like

  12. Hi,I really need help on how to incoporate the Ajax control toolkit into yonkly. I have spent many days but can’t get it work on top of the current yonkly pages. Any suggestion or comments are really appreciated.Thanks

    Like

  13. @david I haven’t done anywork with ajax control toolkit and mvc, so I am not sure I can help you. I decided to do all my javascript and ajax using the jQuery library because I found it really easy to use and light weight. It does require more knowledge of JavaScript compared to the toolkit where you just create an update panel and you are done.I highly recommend looking at http://www.jquery.com and look at yonkly’s source code and javascript to see how i do ajax. there is a ton of material out there.If you do figure it out, please come back and tell us about it. Thanks and good luck.

    Like

  14. Hi,

    I really need help on how to incoporate the Ajax control toolkit into yonkly. I have spent many days but can’t get it work on top of the current yonkly pages. Any suggestion or comments are really appreciated.

    Thanks

    Like

  15. @david I haven’t done anywork with ajax control toolkit and mvc, so I am not sure I can help you. I decided to do all my javascript and ajax using the jQuery library because I found it really easy to use and light weight. It does require more knowledge of JavaScript compared to the toolkit where you just create an update panel and you are done.

    I highly recommend looking at http://www.jquery.com and look at yonkly’s source code and javascript to see how i do ajax. there is a ton of material out there.

    If you do figure it out, please come back and tell us about it. Thanks and good luck.

    Like

  16. I must agree. Using jquery with Asp.net MVC is pretty dang slick and easy. Especially since your controllers are basically REST services now. Now with the built in JsonResult view its REALLY easy to make these service calls return to your objects serialized to json.

    Like

  17. I must agree. Using jquery with Asp.net MVC is pretty dang slick and easy. Especially since your controllers are basically REST services now. Now with the built in JsonResult view its REALLY easy to make these service calls return to your objects serialized to json.

    Like

  18. Pingback: Webmaster Libre | El ataque de los clones… de Twitter

  19. ei guys can anyone help me install the script to the host? first time to use asp.net. usually more familiar with php/msyql. i get this error msg:Server Error in ‘/’ Application.Configuration ErrorDescription: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.Parser Error Message: Could not load file or assembly ‘System.Web.Abstractions, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35’ or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.Source Error:Line 57: Line 58: Line 59: Line 60: Line 61: Source File: d:hostingkumustaeuweb.config Line: 59Assembly Load Trace: The following information can be helpful to determine why the assembly ‘System.Web.Abstractions, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35’ could not be loaded.WRN: Assembly binding logging is turned OFF.To enable assembly bind failure logging, set the registry value [HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftFusion!EnableLog] (DWORD) to 1.Note: There is some performance penalty associated with assembly bind failure logging.To turn this feature off, remove the registry value [HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftFusion!EnableLog].Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.1433; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.1433 help!

    Like

  20. ei guys can anyone help me install the script to the host? first time to use asp.net. usually more familiar with php/msyql. i get this error msg:

    Server Error in ‘/’ Application.
    Configuration Error
    Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

    Parser Error Message: Could not load file or assembly ‘System.Web.Abstractions, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35’ or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.

    Source Error:

    Line 57:
    Line 58:
    Line 59:
    Line 60:
    Line 61:

    Source File: d:hostingkumustaeuweb.config Line: 59

    Assembly Load Trace: The following information can be helpful to determine why the assembly ‘System.Web.Abstractions, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35’ could not be loaded.

    WRN: Assembly binding logging is turned OFF.
    To enable assembly bind failure logging, set the registry value [HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftFusion!EnableLog] (DWORD) to 1.
    Note: There is some performance penalty associated with assembly bind failure logging.
    To turn this feature off, remove the registry value [HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftFusion!EnableLog].

    Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.1433; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.1433

    help!

    Like

  21. I am frequent twitter user and I come across this yonkly and it raising up my interest on exploring on this open source. Will have a try on it and probably get to know more about ASP.NET MVC from here.@king, it is better to wait for final release of MVC before you purchased any windows hosting. Just what I thought.

    Like

  22. I am frequent twitter user and I come across this yonkly and it raising up my interest on exploring on this open source. Will have a try on it and probably get to know more about ASP.NET MVC from here.

    @king, it is better to wait for final release of MVC before you purchased any windows hosting. Just what I thought.

    Like

  23. Pingback: Top 2 Free Open Source MicroBlogging & Twitter Clone Script Download Now

  24. Make the code compile succeeded in MVC 2, but there were many bugs related to .ascx files. For example one:”d:Developmentyonkly-18784YonklyViewsSharedUserSidebar.ascx(138): error CS0308: The non-generic method 'System.Web.Mvc.Html.LinkExtensions.ActionLink(System.Web.Mvc.HtmlHelper, string, string, string, string, string, string, System.Web.Routing.RouteValueDictionary, System.Collections.Generic.IDictionary<string,object>)' cannot be used with type arguments”How to solve this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

